OpenVPN Guide

I’ve finally finished my OpenVPN guide. It’s based on the guide I used from It’s a Tech World, but I’ve beefed up the security and added explanations and detail to some of the more complicated steps.

Here is the URL (it’s linked from the homepage as well): https://lockup.wordpress.com/configure-openvpn/

As I mentioned in a previous post, using this configuration of OpenVPN, you’ll be able to securely connect to your host network from anywhere, access files, services and the host internet connection, but you’re host network will remain completely invisible to ports scans.

This product is amazingly effective, simple to use (once setup) and, with the right configuration, secure. I think my guide is fairly comprehensive, but if you have any suggestions, feel free to comment.

Big thanks to Riley at It’s a Tech World for writing such a great guide.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “OpenVPN Guide”

  1. Nearcelila Says:

    Tahnks for posting

  2. Badcam Says:

    Your openVPN article is fantastic (much kudos to yourself and Riley).

    But, now I have it running, just what can I do with it? Now, I know I can control my Server desktop (I’ve used TightVNC to do this), and I can surf using the Server desktop browser, but I was wondering if perhaps you could suggest other uses for openVPN.

    For instance, can I use it as a proxy server? I don’t need caching, just access to the internet via my home router. There’s a website in New Zealand I frequently, but they don’t allow overseas countries to access it. I’ve been using an old Linux laptop set up with openSSH. Could you please suggest a way in which I could do this making use of the VPN connection?

    Great guide. Thanks.

  3. Jon Says:

    Whenever I attempt to submit the information to my routing table for my WRT150N, I am told “Invalid static route!”, and it will not allow me to fix. Any solutions or ideas?

Leave a Reply

